top of page

Oldboy [Movie Review]


Oldboy is a South Korean neo-noir thriller by Park Chan-wook. Based on Nobuaki Minegishi and Garon Tsuchiya's manga with the same name, it follows a drunken businessman who's imprisoned for fifteen years with no clear reason or culprit. After he escapes, he starts a relationship with a young sushi chef and seeks revenge against the man who kept him in one room.

This film was recommended to me several times, and while I'm not sure what I expected, it was definitely a different experience than I thought. I had heard the film was violent, which I expected of a thriller, but more harrowing is the psychological element. Without giving much away, it's grimy in the best way possible and much of the dark, off-color humor and soundtrack remind me of Quentin Tarantino's movies, particularly ones like Kill Bill, which is incredibly cognizant of its heavily meta moments; these moments focus on an interplay of the older 70's exploitation films, such as Lady Snowblood, that inspired Kill Bill, and Oldboy too carries a tone incredibly similar to older, grungy flicks.

When it comes to the wide shots, close ups, and action scenes, Oldboy shines as an example of the craft of film-making. Still, I'd caution that many of the film's themes are perhaps more prurient than some who watch contemporary thrillers are accustomed to now; again, the film's roots in older exploitation movies cannot be overstated, and the tone, often grim but with a bleak, caustic humor, may not be for everyone. I do think I have a great tolerance for dark subject matter, and I did actually find the humor to alleviate some of the gruesome, somber notes, which tends to be the purpose of black comedy. However, it might not work for you.

Overall, this movie is distinct and eccentric, and if what I've said above doesn't deter you, I'd say give it a shot. On a side note, I'm incredibly intrigued by Park's new film The Handmaiden and hope to see it soon.

bottom of page