top of page

The Silenced [Horror Movie Review]


The Silenced takes place in 1938 Gyeongju, which is now Seoul; during this time, pre-World War II, imperialist Japan occupied Korea. A young Korean woman named Shizuko goes to a boarding school where the other girls loathe her because she shares a name with one of their missing schoolmates. To make matters worse, she's coughing up blood, presumably from tuberculosis, which was curable with the right resources. However, she finds solace in finding a (girl)friend, but there's still the mystery of the missing schoolgirls and some girls exhibiting strange symptoms. I noticed this movie has mixed reviews, and maybe this is because this movie, a period drama with Gothic horror undertones, is my cup of tea, but I don't really see why. The cinematography is moody and striking; it consistently tops itself. Great acting too, particularly from the main protagonist and antagonist. If I were to criticize anything, there were moments of physical violence between characters where I didn't understand why a group of characters gawked in silence instead of finding someone way to overpower the attacker. I understand the they were terrified, but if someone's life is in danger, it feels like someone should've intervened sooner. Nonetheless, I found this movie to be simple yet effective as a criticism of imperialism. It portrays the confinement all these girls feel with poise and tact. Also, I very much appreciate some lesbian subtext with my dark mystery tale. If you want an interesting psychological film, check this one out!

Related Posts

bottom of page