top of page

Train to Busan [Horror Movie Review]


Train to Busan is a 2016 zombie horror movie directed by Yeon Sang-ho. And, whoo, I'm not crying. Man, this pollen is really getting out of control.

Anyhow, this may be horror fanatic heresy, but I'm not a zombie movie fan. Yes, there are exceptions, but overall, I find zombies to be uncompelling antagonists. For me, there typically needs to be a subversion of zombie tropes or fascinating dynamics between the uninfected characters. Here we have this film, which is about a workaholic father, Seok-woo, who has separated from his wife and takes his daughter, Soo-an, for granted. Soo-an, disappointed in her father missing for her recital, asks for him to take her by train to (guess where) Busan so she can visit her mother because she's tired of Dad's neglect. They get on the train, and yeah, cue zombies.

First of all, the composition of so many of the film's shots is stunning. I'd be pressed to find a weakly shot scene because I can remember so many mesmerizing, artistic parts. Every scene is meticulous and beautiful; Sang-ho ensures the viewer feels every possible fraction of emotion. But are the plot and characters worth seeing this?

Yes. Absolutely. With no doubt in my mind. Seek this one out! With my tea--er, pollen-swollen eyes, I implore you to give this film a look. Now, uh, if you'll excuse me, I need some spring-resistant tissues.

You can rent or purchase Train to Busan by clicking the image below.

bottom of page