top of page

Writer Poll Results: What is Your Primary Word Processor?


In this poll, I asked writers what they use the most to compose their novels. The winner was Microsoft Word with over half the votes. I personally use Google Docs because of the autosave feature and the fact the document is preserved on multiple platforms as long as there is Internet access. I also appreciate many of the impassioned responses because I know many people love Scrivener. I was never able to navigate Scrivener well, but I know many writers who adore it.

As for the word processors in the Other category, some writers don't have a processor they primarily use or prefer more than others. Some people use Pages (the Mac version of MS Word), Open Office, and Simplenote. In the past, I've used Libre Office, Word Perfect, and Wordpad.

Any word processors missing here? Which processor do you prefer? Do you physically write out your books? Do you own a typewriter? Let me know!

bottom of page