top of page

How to Do National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) Without Exploding


It's October all year on this blog, but yeah, it's Halloween today, so let's talk about something scary and hair-tingling: writing!

I've done NaNo many times. If you don't know, National Novel Writing Month (laboriously abbreviated to NaNoWriMo) is a challenge where you try to go from zero words to 50,000 on a 100% new fictional project in a month. This is technically a novel's length, though the average novel is about 80-100K. (Though 50K isn't shabby for a first draft; I often underwrite with my first drafts coming around 60-65K.)

Remember: Take Care of Yourself

Obligatory reminder to eat, drink, and bathe here. But I'm not just talking about that, though all aspects of self-care are important. While it's important to realize you cannot just write when you're "inspired," and that you won't necessarily love your first draft because of all its flaws, if you hate every aspect of writing, you'll get burned out quickly. I am a bit perturbed about how we, as writers, often focus on the destructive components of writing--the "killing" of darlings, "tearing apart" and "cutting up" others' works and whatnot--and often forget writing is about creation. (This is, of course, coming from someone who jokes about executing their characters.)

Sometimes, I become so focused on what I'm doing wrong, and what will need to be destroyed, burned, maimed, eviscerated, etc., that I become tired and jaded. What I was once passionate about becomes a source of contempt. Don't let this happen. Take a break and remember why you love writing in the first place. Write something you would love to read.

Maybe...Don't Aim for 50,000 Words?

People "cheat" at NaNo all the time. They work on established projects; they commit to projects not technically under the "novel" category. (A nonfiction work, such as a memoir, does not fall under the realm of fiction.) If you have never gotten more than 10,000 words on a novel, 50,000 words is probably overwhelming and makes you feel inadequate.

You know what? You are adequate, and aim for 10,000 words. While there are technically rewards for "winning" NaNo, the ultimate prize contends with progress on a project during a hectic time. While some may bemoan the event taking place in November, this is likely intentional and to encourage writing as a habit no matter how hectic life gets with holidays, work projects, and school finals.

That being said, I am a huge proponent of progress, and progress cannot have a set number across the board for all writers. Some writers write 10,000 words a day, some write 1,000, and others write 200 or less. Guess what? These are all acceptable. You're getting something done.

If you think the most you can do is 10,000 words? Go for it. Get involved. The 10,000 words you attempt to write are more than you might have at the beginning of November.

Also, there are Camp NaNoWriMo events in April and July where you can actually set your own goal.

Embrace "Failure"

The first time I did NaNo, I technically failed. I wrote about 20K, and my greatest pride is that I averaged 666 words per day. Anyway, was this actually a failure? I took a risk, and I wrote more on a project than I ever had. All "failures" teach us something and assist us in getting things right the next time. So, if anything, they're small successes that lead to greater successes.

Are you participating in NaNo? What are you writing? What are your methods?

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page