top of page

Podcast Recommendation for Writers: Story Grid


As a writer working with someone to revise my horror novel, I came across a podcast that I think may be of use to all you fellow writerly folks. The Story Grid follows experienced editor Shawn Coyne and author Tim Grahl as Tim writes his first book. Shawn and Tim collaborate, and they discuss story techniques, as well as dissect (read: tear apart) Tim's manuscript.

What I like most about the podcast is its realness. Tim has a relatable frustration at times while attempting to make his plot work, and to watch the journey of revision is, for me, cathartic. This podcast came at an opportune time as I was making my way into the second draft of Dove Keeper and applying feedback I'd garnered on the first draft.

So, definitely check this one out for insightful writing advice and a look into the arduous-yet-rewarding process of revising a novel.

If you want to learn more, check out Coyne's book, which is linked in the image below.

The Story Grid is a tool developed by editor Shawn Coyne to analyze stories and provide helpful editorial comments. It's like a CT Scan that takes a photo of the global story and tells the editor or writer what is working, what is not, and what must be done to make what works better and fix what's not.

Also, I personally recommend these two books: Lisa Cron's Wired for Story and Larry Brooks' Story Engineering.

A

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page